The Harford County Democratic Central Committee promotes Democratic candidates, office holders and local issues in Harford County, Maryland. We accomplish this through registering voters, fundraising, organizing precincts and increasing public awareness.

T​he HCDCC is made up of five women and five men who are elected to serve four year terms plus appointed Associate Members. The Central Committee’s election is during the gubernatorial primary. The Central Committee acts as the local branch of the Maryland Democratic Party. The Committee Chair is the official head of the Democratic Party in Harford County.​

Committee Officers

Henry S. “Sandy” Gibbons — Chair

A resident of Edgewood, Sandy comes to the HCDCC having supported several campaigns in Harford County. He has also been active in environmental and pro-science advocacy since moving to Harford in 2016. Sandy brings many years of project management experience from his career as a scientist and research group leader, and has chaired several high-profile, multi-institute working groups, review panels and consortia during his service. He is looking forward to applying those skills to serve the voters in Harford.

Katie York — Vice Chair

Katie York (she/they) is committed to working for racial equity, disability justice, and LGBTQ+ rights and is the founder of Harford County Neurodivergents. They moved to Harford County in 2011 and currently resides in Edgewood with their husband and teen. Katie graduated from Dallas Baptist University with a B.A. in Sociology and has worked in higher education administration for over a decade. In their spare time, they enjoy spending time with their family, reading, and volunteering in their community.

Mike Ciufo — Treasurer

Mike Ciufo was born and raised in Harford County and currently resides in Bel Air with his wife and three sons. He began his career in business with an international public accounting firm and currently serves as an Assistant Vice President with a global talent solutions company. Mike has a B.S. in Accounting and Finance from West Virginia University and is a licensed Certified Public Accountant in the state of Maryland. He is active in the county, and is a firm believer in the merits and virtue of community service. In his spare time, Mike enjoys spending time with his family and reading history.

Stephen Puopolo — Secretary

Born and raised in Baltimore, Stephen moved to Harford County in 2005 just prior to getting married. Since then, he completed his education at University of Baltimore with a bachelors in Government and Public Policy. Stephen as taken part in local groups such as the Edgewood Advisory Board and is currently the Chair for the People with Disabilities Council of the Maryland Democratic Party. Hard of hearing since birth, he has always been the sort to speak out for others.

Paula Casagrande
Barbara Osborn Kreamer — Co-Communications Director
Alicia Myers-Pope
Donte Pope
JoWanda Strickland-Lucas

Associate Members

Zack Frink — Co-Communications Director